You Tube Lake Superior News   Twitter Lake Superior New  Face Book Lake Superior News  Lake Superior Circle Tour Calendar

Lake Superior News
Lake Superor Regional News


SIJHL announces 2018
playoff format and timeline

SIJHL Bill Salonen Cup Lake Superior News
#LSN_Sports  Bill Salonen Cup

THUNDER BAY, ONTARIO  – February 24, 2018  (LSN)   The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday its playoff format and timeline for the upcoming postseason.

The first round of the SIJHL playoffs will feature a pair of best-of-five quarter-final series, which are slated to run between March 20-27.

Those match-ups will see the No. 3 seeded side taking on the No. 6 Minnesota Iron Rangers while the other series will have the No. 4 and No. 5 ranked clubs squaring off.

Meanwhile the SIJHL’s regular season title holder and the No. 2 seeded squad will earn first round byes.

Semifinal action will then see two best-of-seven affairs taking place from March 28 through April 11.

One series will see the No. 1 rated team meeting the lowest seeded club with the other two remaining clubs meeting in the other match-up.

From there the two semifinal winners will square off in the Bill Salonen Cup league championship series in another best-of-seven set that is slated to go from April 13-24.

The SIJHL champion will then join the Dryden GM Ice Dogs at the Dudley-Hewitt Cup May 1-5 at Dryden’s Memorial Arena.

Should the GM Ice Dogs repeat as league champions, then the Bill Salonen Cup finalist will also represent the SIJHL at the four-team event, which will also feature the title holders from the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League and the Ontario Junior Hockey League taking part.

The Dudley-Hewitt Cup winner will then advance to represent the Central region at the RBC Cup Canadian national Jr. A event, May 12-20 in Chilliwack, B.C.

At the RBC, the host Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) will go up against the Dudley-Hewitt Cup champion, the titleist from the Fred Page Cup (East) as well as the winners from both the ANAVET Cup (MJHL/SJHL) and the Doyle Cup (AJHL/BCHL).

All SIJHL playoff and Dudley-Hewitt Cup games will be streamed live online via

SIJHL Playoff Timeline

First Round (Quarter-finals)
Best-of-Five Series
March 20-27
No. 1 seed – BYE
No. 2 seed – BYE

Series A: No. 3 vs. No. 6 Minnesota Iron Rangers
Series B: No. 4 vs. No 5

Second Round (Semifinals)
Best-of-Seven series
March 28-April 11
Series C:
No. 1 vs. Lowest remaining seed
Series D: No. 2 vs. 2nd lowest seed

Third Round (Bill Salonen Cup Final)
Best-of-Seven series

Series E: Semifinal Winners

Dudley-Hewitt Cup (Central Canada Jr. A Championship)
May 1-5
Dryden, Ont.

Competing teams
Dryden GM Ice Dogs (SIJHL) (Host)
NOJHL champion
OJHL champion
SIJHL champion or finalist*
DHC winner advances to RBC Cup
* Should Dryden win the Bill Salonen Cup, then the SIJHL finalist will also advance to the DHC

RBC Cup (Canadian Jr. A Championship)
May 12-20
Chilliwack, B.C.

Competing teams
Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (Host)
Dudley-Hewitt Cup champion (Central)
Fred Page Cup champion (East)
ANAVET Cup champions (MJHL/SJHL)
Doyle Cup (AJHL/BCHL)



Dryden Ice Dogs   Lake Superior News
English River Miners    Lake Superior News
Fort Frances Lakers   Lake Superior News
Iron Rangers   Lake Superior News
Thief River  Falls    Lake Superior News
Thunder Bay North Stars    Lake Superior News
CJHL Hockey   Lake Superior News The Canadian Junior Hockey League is made up of the 10 Junior ‘A’ leagues across Canada. Representing 132 teams and over 3,000 players, the CJHL also boast over 2,800 alumni furthering their hockey careers at the NHL, AHL, ECHL, CHL, NCAA and CIS level across North America. 



Subscribe to Lake Superior mailing list to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox weekly 

*indicates required
Email Format

We will not share your information with other organizations